The thing with travel…

As my flight bounces onto the runway in Melbourne and glides past the huge metal birds waiting at the airport – ready to take their passengers to new destinations and new experiences, I am reminded about why I love to travel.Exploring new cultures and new landscapes brings a gratitude and a self awareness that you can’t achieve by staying in your comfort zone. 

The thing with travel is that although sometimes it’s hard, it’s always when we learn the most about ourselves. Travel brings challenges. It brings weather events, flight delays, strange food, new cultures, lack of sleep and sometimes language barriers.

All these experiences add to our metal as a human. They test us and show us what we are made of.  They show how we cope in a stressful situation. It gives a good dose of grateful when we see people happily living their lives beside a dusty railway line in a tin shanty, although they may have very little. It tests our pre-conceived ideas about who, what, why and when and challenges some of our strongest beliefs. 

It’s when this shift occurs that the learning and self awareness happens. 

Now. Let me explain to you that I am an ENFP in Myers Briggs personality so this may not all ring true for you. This is the world according to Emma. It’s a world of positivity and optimism, enthusiasm and energy, of open mindedness and self exploration. Of new experiences and opportunities, of constant change and learning. 

I’m always happy for my beliefs to be challenged and changed. And this happens constantly when I travel. 

And that is the thing with travel. (For me) ☺️

2 thoughts on “The thing with travel…

Add yours

  1. Travel is an incredible thing!
    I am a fellow Melbourne boy myself and there’s no place quite like home!
    But an ENFP like yourself would know – getting around and learning new things is what makes us all better!
    I’ve recently been on the road (for the last four months) and am about to head off again!
    What keeps me travelling is the opportunity to learn about other cultures – I just feel that if we arent challenging ourselves, stagnation will undoubtedly occur.

    Like

    1. I so agree Ryan! Youre an ENFP? love new things and new ideas! it makes my life so exciting! I hope where you’re off to is somewhere amazing!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

